Need to Read in AAPI

Working a full-time job is, while not as time-consuming as college, surprisingly exhausting. This is my way of saying I know I’m garbage and have neglected this blog. However, I return with Issue 17 of The New Chimericans, full of articles about the Trump election, global families, and the Han identity.

When in China, one of the greatest frustrations I meet is the misunderstanding of “what I am.” Never mind my U.S. passport and poor grasp of the Chinese language, in the eyes of locals, I am Chinese because my parents are. “The upper Han,” featured in the issue, sheds light on why Chinese nationals conflate racial and national identity. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

