Better than Coffee

BetterthanCoffee

LOL that it’s been almost two months since I’ve posted. I should have the time to blog. I fill up my evenings with naps and Facebook refreshes–not work. But turns out, working full-time exhausts me. Writing every day presents more challenges than I had thought, but I will try to post on a more consistent basis. Here are a few things that made my week.

Jane the Virgin. Let this week forevermore be remembered as Jane the Virgin week. I started the show Tuesday night. Between then and Wednesday morning, I watched 9 hour-long episodes. I came in an hour late to work on Wednesday and Thursday so I could squeeze in a few more episodes. I skipped dinner Wednesday night so I could finish the first season.

Needless to say, I could write a thesis on all the ways I love this show. Mind you, I had heard plenty of praises for Jane before queuing it up on Netflix, but I assumed it would be a light, fun show to watch in my free time. And while it is wildly joyful, the show hits so every note and sings them pretty damn well. From moving depictions of mother-daughter relationships to the most convincing love triangle on TV, Jane the Virgin marries the stupid fun of a telenovela and the gut-punches of the greatest dramas. Easily the best TV I’ve found since Crazy Ex-Girlfriend. Two for you, CW! You go CW!

“Fall.” Admittedly, I felt lukewarm about Gilmore Girls: A Year in the Life, but I would be remiss if I excluded it from this list. I finished the last episode Monday night and almost threw my laptop across the room after I heard the Last Four Words. But to get hung up on the reveals would be a disservice to the scenes in the revival that will go down in Gilmore history. I love how Lorelai and Emily conclude their stories (fuck Rory, though), but the Lorelai-Sookie reunion is the moment I keep replaying in my head.

Their banter, their love for each other is just as vibrant as in the heyday of Gilmore, but in their sole scene together, darkness underlies each exchange. And how could there not be–after all that had happened to Lorelai and all that Sookie had missed? Oddly, the most existential moment of the entire series does not involve Richard or his death but rather it involves the strain and change Lorelai and Sookie’s relationship sees over the years. Throughout A Year in the Life, I found myself annoyed at how little things had changed and how little characters had grown over the course of ten years (*cough* RORY *cough*). But Graham and McCarthy manage to capture the way loved ones grow apart, the way our lives and our persons change, and the way this can happen suddenly and slowly at the same time in one short exchange. In those special minutes with Lorelai and Sookie, I finally felt each year that had gone by.

Leave a Reply

